top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRobert Scovill

California Jam 2

One of the most historic and epic festival lineups of the 70s





















It's really impressive to see how far festival production advanced in just a mere 10 year period since Woodstock.

October 6th, 2018 Well, it's Saturday ... so let's get our festival vibe on! Let me see, where did I leave my wine skin and bottle of Boone's Farm??? Okay, for today's "Live Vinyl Loveliest"! I'm going to check in on a double album release for California Jam 2. I was surprised at how rare the pressings and even the CD reissue of this release is today. Very hard to find and expensive. Cool memories for me regarding this festival as I had just finished high school and the ABC network had a regular show on at that time called "In Concert" and they featured Cal Jam 2 on one of the airings. By that time, I had my sights pretty well set on what I wanted to do in my life and seeing this just cemented it in place for me. I mean, who wouldn't want to work at concerts for a living? If I'm interpreting the album credits correctly, Record Plant Mobile provided the remote recording services for the event and by all accounts every band had their own mixer mix their performances for the release. Heavy weights by anyone's standards. David Robinson, Ron Nevison, Mike Flicker, Tom Werman, Jack Douglas, Jay Messina, Andy Johns ... I mean, come on. Quite a roster of talent working on this project. Good stuff. Pretty good sounding record as well with minimal overdubbing as far as i can tell. There are quite a few YouTube videos documenting the setup of this festival. Be sure and look them up. It's really impressive to see how far festival production advanced in just a mere 10 year period since Woodstock.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page