top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRobert Scovill

Deep Purple "Made In Japan"

Updated: Apr 1, 2019

One of the earliest live records added to my collection.



"The next day, I BEGGED my mother to take me shopping to the big record store to see if I could find it and I did!"

November 6th, Welcome to "Twofer-Tuesday" where we focus on a double live album on Live Vinyl Lovefest —— I remember it like it was yesterday. My team and I were done playing baseball one night at the local league park. The crummy PA speakers in the concession area did their level best to belt out the guitar riff that would go on to be played over a gillion times in every music store where a young aspiring guitar player sat down and picked up an out of tune Strat for the first time. I remember thinking “How cool, they have KSHE on here and they are playing "Smoke On The Water"! But as the song went on, suddenly I realized, “wait, that guitar solo is slightly different” what the heck is this? Only to hear the crowd roaring at the end of the song and realizing “ahhhhh this is a LIVE record”. Luckily, the KSHE DJ called out the recording. The next day, I BEGGED my mother to take me shopping to the big record store to see if I could find it and I did! This is it Deep Purple "Made In Japan"

Now, what I’ve learned in my short time since that night at the ball park is that the world is actually a very small place. I’ve actually been to the Lake Geneva shoreline near Montreux Switzerland while working the Montreux Jazz Festival. I’ve actually been in the hotel that famously caught fire. I’ve met and talked about the event with Claude Knobs (a.k.a. “Funky Claude”) I’ve been inside the Rolling Stones Mobile a couple of times. And although I never met Frank Zappa, I’ve met and hung out with his kids many times. The only folks I haven’t met are the actual dudes in Deep Purple … there’s still time I guess. In the mean time, I’m going to spin this little gem and take a little trip back in time. Oh man, where did I leave my ball glove? Dad is going to kill me!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page