top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRobert Scovill

Ian Hunter Welcome To The Club

Updated: Apr 1, 2019

One of the most respected and most prolific artist of the rock music era.



Ian Hunter is approaching 80 years old now and he has likely borne witness to every facet of rock and roll as we know it.

October 9th, 2018 It's a terrific Tuesday for "Live Vinyl Lovefest" don't you think!? Today I'm gonna pull us back into the current era a bit with a recoding that was done not all that long ago. Wait, what am I saying? This was recorded in 1979! Ian Hunter is approaching 80 years old now and he has likely borne witness to every facet of rock and roll as we know it. I was fortunate enough to meet and hang out with Ian and Mick Ronson for a time in the 80s through my work with Joe Elliott while I was mixing Def Leppard. Honestly, Joe may just be the biggest Ian Hunter fan in the world. Actually, check that, there's no doubt about it Joe IS the biggest Ian Hunter fan ever. Joe exposed me to an entirely unrealized side of Ian that set my already high regard for him in stone. I remember Joe and I and others cramming into my wife's car one night while on tour to drive an hour or so to see Ian and Mick perform at some dank little bar seemingly in the middle of nowhere America (Texas I think). The set he and Mick played was simply fantastic. A very memorable night. I think it's fair to say that Ian never really achieved the commercial success that someone of his lineage was due, but that has not stopped him from being an incredibly prolific writer and performer. Excluding his defining work with Mott The Hoopple, he's released over 20 solo projects. There are not very many formally released live recordings of Ian Hunter -- a few -- but not many. This is one I was lucky to find on vinyl and it's a great set of recordings. Captured by Le Mobile at the Roxy in Los Angeles in 1979 engineered by Harvey Goldberg. The double album also contains 4 bonus tracks recorded at Media Sound in up state New York. Ian was also gracious enough to credit FOH mixer Scott Richards and Monitor engineer Jeep Parker. Classy in every way.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page