top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRobert Scovill

Pat Travels Band "Go For What You Know"

Updated: Apr 1, 2019

Rock and roll alive and well, where it should be, in front of an audience.



"This was a pretty cool live record and actually spawned a pretty sizable hit for Pat with "Boom Boom Out Go The Lights."

October 29th, Okay, let's get Monday off to a fresh start on Live Vinyl Lovefest. When I was a young and aspiring drummer, often the drummer for the bands I would choose to listen to would be the driving force toward my choices of music and bands. I was a very early fan of Tommy Aldridge. I grew up in St. Louis and Black Oak Arkansas was a local staple early on in that area and they got me hooked on Tommy. He had the coolest drum kit for the time and he was fantastic to watch play. Great moves. When he teamed up with Pat Travers, Pat Thrall and Mars Cowling he definitely got to show considerably more depth and proficiency as a player and contributor.

This was a pretty cool live record and actually spawned a pretty sizable hit for Pat with "Boom Boom Out Go The Lights". But there are also many other solid performances on this release to be sure. It's well produced and well recorded.

I've gotten to meet Pat Thrall a couple of times throughout my career. Once when he was playing with Meatloaf and a second time through some hang time with Zoe Thrall, his wife of many years, through some dealings with the Pearl at the The Palms in Vegas. Great studio there as well -- very solid people and always a great hang.

Unfortunately, I've never had the pleasure of Tommy's company ... at any rate, the Monday "Live Vinyl Lovefest" is off and running!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page