top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRobert Scovill

The Who Live At Leeds

Simply put; one of the greatest live albums ever captured






















I've listened to it too many times to count and it still delivers every.single.time.

October 7th, 2018 Well as we all know Sunday is a day of reverence. So with that thought in mind I give you "The Who Live at Leeds" (original pressing) for this Sunday edition of "Live Vinyl Lovefest". There were two live albums from my youth that "started it all" for me. This is one of them. The amazing thing is that over the years many more recordings from this series of shows at Leeds were released and I have listened to them all. While it's fascinating to hear the different takes of the same songs over the course of the nights The Who played while there, it struck me that they picked exactly the right ones to release for the original album. I far and away prefer the takes on the original release. And frankly they are un-effing-believable. The energy released in these musical performances by a rock band is simply unmatched IMO. I've listened to it too many times to count and it still delivers every.single.time. Also, the sound quality of the Leeds recordings, given the capabilities of the time they were captured, is simply astonishing. There's a TON of info on the web about this series of shows. I encourage you to dig in a little. This is the The Who in "one of" their finest hours. I know for me, if I were ever given the opportunity to time travel, this date and location in history would be near the top of my list of destinations. Happy Sunday everyone.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page