top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRobert Scovill

Todd Rundgren and Utopia Live at the Hammersmith Odeon

Updated: Apr 1, 2019

A Pioneering Artist and Band in Peak Performance



"During that time he was producing so many artists it was hard to keep track of them all. He definitely left a considerable imprint on me and morphed my views of the traditional role of producer/performer."

October 12th, 2018 Welcome to the Friday edition of “Live Vinyl Lovefest” Now, I’ll be the first to admit, I came to Todd Rundgren a little late in the game. I really didn't dig in on Todd until the early 80s’ through some influence of some other musicians and friends who were rabid fans. But once I tipped my toe in the water, I became a very big fan. I saw him (and Utopia) a number of times in those years and have always tried to keep my finger on the pulse of what Todd was up to as not only a great musician and song writer but as producer. During that time he was producing so many artists it was hard to keep track of them all. He definitely left a considerable imprint on me and morphed my views of the traditional role of producer/performer.

This single album is a very cool live recording of Todd and Utopia from the legendary Hammersmith Odeon just outside of London. My God, how many shows and recordings have come out of that building?

There are literally NO liner notes on this recording, but it’s clear that it was professionally recorded and mixed. I have not really dug in on the net and tried to find out much about this recording. But I will say this, Todd is in GREAT form vocally on this recording and the selection and performances of songs is truly great IMO. Very engaged audience as well. A great sounding set of performances here! A real treat to listen to.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page